Tags

, , , , ,

I woke up early this morning, grabbed some necessary coffee and headed for the Bernal Hill, that is surrounded by a friendly, laid back neighborhood called Bernal Heights in San Francisco.

There, in a secluded dog park area of the hill I found a bench and sat down and watched the morning fog roll in and out with a spectacular view of the city.

I opened my worn out sketch book and started to draw few lines not really knowing my direction, but hoping to get some of the city’s atmosphere on the paper. A little painstaking but off I went.

image

image

I spend a lot of time on sketches,
and I don’t draw everything I see.
To me, they are purely informative. Not really meant to be pretty, but mainly for me to develop and capture an essential idea, theme, composition or a pattern.

I get my idea down with few lines, I start with an axis, planes and create relationships between them to get the content somewhat organized.

image

Bernal garden

I work fast. Often when I start it feels heavy to begin. But I can’t think my way into fluidity, I have to earn it by putting the pencil down on the paper!

image

image

image

And sometimes lines take life on their own. And sometimes I don’t know if a sketch will end up as a finished piece of design. Most of my work has an unknown beginning, but every sketch has its potential!

image

